Breakage

I’ve been canning today (during record-setting heat. Sorry Community, I should have known better than to start this project), and just unloaded my first breakage-free pot-O-canning.

(I am *so* thankful for experienced people with simple answers.)

Middle daughter bounced through the kitchen and asked if any broke this time. I said I figured out what made them break, and carefully avoided it this time.

“What made them break?” she asked.

“Temperature stress,” I began, then translated it down to 6-year-old level. “When the inside is too different from the outside, the glass isn’t strong enough to handle the difference, and it breaks.”

And I froze.

Wow.

That is a good explanation for several things in my world right now.

Leave a Reply

